American Civil War Game Club (ACWGC)

ACWGC Forums

* ACWGC    * Dpt. of Records (DoR)    *Club Recruiting Office     ACWGC Memorial

* CSA HQ    * VMI   * Join CSA    

* Union HQ   * UMA   * Join Union    

CSA Armies:   ANV   AoT

Union Armies:   AotP    AotT

Link Express

Club Forums:     NWC    CCC     Home Pages:     NWC    CCC    ACWGC
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: battle of Fredericksburg
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:48 pm 

Okay, I'm no expert on Fredericksburg but I am finding out in this battle that the supply wagons can not cross the bridges. the men and artillery can, but not the wagons. Is this historical? Otherwise troops will have to go back and cross the river to acquire ammo.

BG Drex Ringbloom,
Cdr,2nd Div,VIII Corp
Army of the Shenandoah

Profile Send private message  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 5:02 pm 

Hi, General,

Parameter data for Fredricksburg give a max bridge strength of 500. The bridges on the map are all 300. You have to set troops to repairing them to make them strong enough to carry a wagon. Don't know if they have to be full strength to carry a wagon, but it is certainly more than infantry. Check the manual for the necessary info.

MG Mike Mihalik
1/III/AoMiss/CSA

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:24 am 

Not being an expert either I do seem to remember that there were no bridges in the vacinity. The Union had to build pontoon bridges and/or plank over the remaining pilings of destroyed ones. CSA snipers in the town made their life miserable while doing it.

Brig. Gen. Phil Driscoll
1st Brigade/1st Division/VCorps/AoP

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:08 am 

While I don't have Chancellorsville, the rules on bridge repair state:

<blockquote id="quote"><font size="3" face="book antiqua" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Bridge Repair