ACWGC
* ACWGC     * Dpt. of Records       * CSA HQ    * VMI    * Join CSA    
   * Union HQ    * UMA    * Join Union     ACWGC Memorial
CSA Armies:    ANV    AotW
Union Armies:    AotT     AotC      AotP      AotS     Union Army Forums
     Link Express
American Civil War Books, Magazines and Games for sale (See other items)
Club Forums:     NWC    CCC     Home Pages:     NWC    CCC    ACWGC
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:38 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows 10 and Campaing Gettysburg Problem
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 6:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 10:00 am
Posts: 444
Location: USA
Gentlemen,
I have been trying to load my HPS Gettysburg. I press setup exe file and nothing happens until it times out. I have been able to load HPS Antietam and works fine. Might be the age of the disk. Any suggestions?

_________________
Lt General Joseph C. Mishurda,
VI Corps Killer Angles, AoS, USA


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 and Campaing Gettysburg Problem
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 22, 2001 4:51 pm
Posts: 2795
Location: Massachusetts, USA
One thing that has worked, before, is to copy the complete CDROM to your computer and run setup from that, but have not heard of this method being used from some time. :shock:

_________________
General Ernie Sands
President ACWGC -Sept 2015
Western Theater, Commander, USA
Image
Image
ACWGC Records Site Admin


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 and Campaing Gettysburg Problem
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:09 am
Posts: 50
Location: Italy
I have the same problem with Matrix games that I have resolved with slitherine support, following these instructions.
Open the folder where you've installed the game.
Locate and select a file named "autorun.exe". Press the right mouse button and select "Properties". Click on the "Compatibility" tab. Tick the option "Run this program as an administrator". Click on "Apply" and "Ok". Double click on "autorun.exe" for running the program and check if the issue persists.

_________________
Lt Col Stefano Santalucia
6th Brigade
2nd Division
III Corps
Army of Northern Virginia


Image


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows 10 and Campaing Gettysburg Problem
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 4:32 am
Posts: 1637
Location: USA
Go to your Control Panel then Apps. See if HPS Gettysburg is listed there. If so uninstall it.
If not, go to your CD and see if you can find the uninstall script there and run it.

Usually when it won't run setup it thinks you have already installed the game. If you can't get one of the uninstall scripts to run you have to do search the registry for the game entries and remove them there. A real pain, especially if you aren't familiar with the registry.

_________________
General Kennon Whitehead
Chatham Grays
AoT II/1/3 (CSA)


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: R. Sickbert and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: