Napoleonic Wargame Club
http://www.wargame.ch/board/nwc/

"Embedded melee"?
http://www.wargame.ch/board/nwc/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=15852
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Paul Synnott [ Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:29 am ]
Post subject:  "Embedded melee"?

Hello,

I keep seeing references to a rule/option called Embedded Melee, but I can't find a definition or explanation. All I can tell is that there is some connection between it and the No Melee Eliminations optional rule.

I'd be grateful if anyone could through some light on this or point me in the right direction.

Paul

Author:  Andy Moss [ Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: "Embedded melee"?

This is from the MOE Rules page:

All melée combat takes place in an Embedded Melée Phase within the player turn. The player may move and/or fire as many units as he wishes, setting up his melée combats for the turn. He then executes ALL melée combats. He may then move and/or fire any units still eligible to do so, but may not conduct any further melée combat for the remainder of the turn.



M.2 Melée attacks against skirmishers (if numbering less than 100), wagons, and/or leaders may be conducted at any time during the turn. Overruns by charging cavalry can occur BEFORE the embedded melee phase.



M.3 Charging cavalry may still melée multiple hexes in one turn, but the first two of these melées must take place within the embedded Melée Phase. For example, charging cavalry MUST initiate their first melee within the melee phase. It may then attack a second hex BEFORE melees involving other units are initiated. In other words, charging cavalry can conduct two (2) melees BEFORE all other melees are conducted. This allows cavalry an opportunity (though limited) to penetrate and cut off retreat routes. AFTER all other melees are done, then charging cavalry can undertake their third and fourth melees if they desire. After the initial melee, attacking cavalry can move through clear terrain, overrun skirmishers, artillery, and wagons without restriction. These actions do not count as melees. Cavalry intending to conduct such melée attacks must, obviously, charge BEFORE the embedded Melée Phase.

Author:  Paul Synnott [ Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: "Embedded melee"?

Andy Moss wrote:
This is from the MOE Rules page:


Perfect, now it makes sense. Thanks Andy.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/