American Civil War Game Club (ACWGC) http://www.wargame.ch/board/acwgc/ |
|
Question about HPS Shiloh http://www.wargame.ch/board/acwgc/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14906 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | gcollins [ Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:24 am ] |
Post subject: | Question about HPS Shiloh |
Is it possible for the Confederates in HPS Shiloh to capture the Pittsburgh Landing hex space with no negative repercussions? Does the 5 hex "magic envelope of automatic rout" count for this game? I seem to remember that one of the versions (perhaps it was the Talonsoft title) that the real objective of the battle was the capture of that hex and the subsequent prevention of the arrival of Buell's army. If not, that is one of the problems I have with the game. Can't the confederates just get a point lead and then retreat and still win the game? It seems completely contrary to history if they can, and rather 'gamey'. Bg. General Gilbert Collins Army of Alabama III/I/2nd Brigade |
Author: | Al Amos [ Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:10 am ] |
Post subject: | |
the magic envelope only exists if the designer put one in. If he/she set it at zero there is no magic envelope. Open the scenario in the editor to see what range the designer set. They may have left it at the default five hex range. MG Al "Ambushed" Amos, Commanding Officer 1st Div, I Corps, AoP, USA http://albert-amos.blogspot.com/ |
Author: | krmiller_usa [ Fri Apr 16, 2010 3:39 am ] |
Post subject: | |
The Pittsburg Landing hex is not protected in the historical scenario although the road where Wallace comes in is, but that may not be true in some of the other scenarios as this can be set in the editor for each reinforcement. Theoretically I believe you could have protection on for one reinforcement but not for another. Gen. Ken Miller AoP ![]() |
Author: | Blake [ Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:33 am ] |
Post subject: | |
If it is a stand alone battle the Confederates can't retreat of fof the board. But if it is part of a campaign the Club Rules allow for the removal of units. Although the game has the Pittsburg Landing hex on the map at coordinates (56, 31) the ACTUAL coordinates of it are at (56, 33)! If you take the hex correctly labeled on the board you will find Union transports still unloading men just south of your position. If you make it to Pittsburg Landing be sure to capture the correct hex at (56, 33). There is no protective distance for the Landing either. Your men will not rout automatically if Union reinforcements appear at the Landing if you are nearby. Lt. Col. Blake L. Strickler 6th Bd/4th Div/IV Corps AotM stricklerblake@yahoo.com |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC - 5 hours |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |