Colonial Campaigns Club (CCC) https://www.wargame.ch/board/cc/ |
|
Isolation https://www.wargame.ch/board/cc/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3412 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | D.S. Walter [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:35 am ] |
Post subject: | Isolation |
A unit should show as "isolated" when it cannot trace a path to the map edge that's free of enemy units or their ZOC. Now please check out the following picture: ![]() The rebels are completely surrounded by ZOC. No source. Yet they don't show as isolated. Or rather, they did for one turn, then in the next two they didn't. No changes in the situation, all three turns they were completely surrounded. How is this possible? [:0] |
Author: | 367 [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:53 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Does the single blue unit's ZOC neutralize or negate your units ZOCs in the empty hex? Not related to this particular case but to Isolation also is that units backed up to impassable water hexes and surrounded on land will not be isolated. I don't agree with this, are the surrounded units going to swim out of harm's way or get help from across water hexes? |
Author: | 19 [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:09 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Dierk, From your example we do not know your units facing. It is possible that if your units are facing directly at the Americans there will be a zoc gap, not to be confused with a mineshaft gap(any Dr Strangleove fans out there? Timing could be an issue as well as the isolation would be determined at the beginning of his turn which migght account for some of your timing question. I agree with Phil on the impassable water hexsides and isolation. Having said all that, I realize how ignorant I am of 2-D play, "upon further review" it looks like you have the gap covered if I read my 2-D icons correctly... |
Author: | K. Van Canegem [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:12 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Dierk, Looks familiar[:D] |
Author: | D.S. Walter [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 8:57 am ] |
Post subject: | |
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Scott</i> From your example we do not know your units facing. <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> I'd say you do? The units face the dotted line. <blockquote id="quote"><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"> It is possible that if your units are facing directly at the Americans there will be a zoc gap <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> No gap. <blockquote id="quote"><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"> Timing could be an issue as well as the isolation would be determined at the beginning of his turn which migght account for some of your timing question. <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> This is the beginning of the turn situation. Phil's explanation is the only one that makes sense so far, though the wording of the rule would still apply. [8)] |
Author: | Gary McClellan [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:15 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Kesselschlact (hope I got the spelling right) I think Dierk's starting to take after Moltke again [:D] |
Author: | Al Amos [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:45 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Nope sounds like a bug. Are you both using the same version? Is the American flag a source hex? Only units negate an enemy ZOC. Is the game encrypted? If not it may be possible that the Optional Rules were changed, somehow. |
Author: | D.S. Walter [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 10:56 am ] |
Post subject: | |
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Al Amos</i> <br />Nope sounds like a bug. Are you both using the same version? <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> I hope. <blockquote id="quote"><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"> Is the American flag a source hex? <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> No source. <blockquote id="quote"><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"> Is the game encrypted? <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> No--it's a campaign game. <blockquote id="quote"><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"> If not it may be possible that the Optional Rules were changed, somehow. <hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote"> But units would show as <u>isolated</u> even without <u>isolation effects</u> on, no? [/quote] |
Author: | Al Amos [ Tue Jul 15, 2003 12:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
Dierk, No. The 'Isolated' marking doesn't show if the Optional Rule is not being used. (I think.) |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |