ACWGC
* ACWGC     * Dpt. of Records       * CSA HQ    * VMI    * Join CSA    
   * Union HQ    * UMA    * Join Union     ACWGC Memorial
CSA Armies:    ANV    AotW
Union Armies:    AotT     AotC      AotP      AotS     Union Army Forums
     Link Express
American Civil War Books, Magazines and Games for sale (See other items)
Club Forums:     NWC    CCC     Home Pages:     NWC    CCC    ACWGC
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:37 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bull Run (TS) Installation problem (uk members?)
PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 6:46 am 
Gentlemen
I have recently had a new HD fitted and when I try to install BR it gets to 50% then locks up. I have installed it before and have other ACW Titles installed on the new HD. As I have to install the disc because I am entered for two matches in a Tourne. this is not good.
Any suggestions[?]
I am trying on ebay(uk) for a replacement disc if mine is knacked(can I say that [:I])

Col. Jim Hall
"The Chosen Men"
4th Engineers Brigade, 2nd Infantry Division, II Corps
A of A


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 22, 2001 10:10 pm
Posts: 808
Location: USA
Sounds like you have a bad spot or scratch on the disc, if you haven't tried it wash it off with a mild detergent, rinse and dry with soft cloth wiping straight from the center to the edge. For more info on CD scratches try http://www.tutorials.com/08/0836/0836.asp. Another possibility is try one of the CD restorers on the market. Can't make any recommendations here as I've never tried any of them.

Once you get it working or get another disk suggest you copy it and put the original in a safe place, that's what I've done with all my game disks.

Lt.Gen.Ken Miller
Veteran's Divsion
VIII / AoS


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 12:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 29, 2001 3:54 pm
Posts: 497
Location: United Kingdom
Jim,
I've had that problem with BGBR too, but not with other BG games. Probably a coincidence. Just wouldn't copy all the files, even after cleaning. At the time I thought maybe it was a system problem or my CD drive was poor and was struggling to read some of the files from the CD, but I never got to the bottom of it. After working out that the important stuff had copied I ended up manually copying the rest of the game files (like the big map files) onto my HD from the CD, but it was a very slow process. Sorry I can't be more specific but it was a couple of years ago and I've put the whole sorry experience behind me.

Lt. Gen. Antony Barlow
CO, XIV Corps,
XO, Army of the Cumberland
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:14 am
Posts: 106
Location: USA
Jim,

I live in Harrogate and have a US copy of the game if it would help you install.

Regards,
Chuck Berdanier
Maj, 2/1/IX, AoO


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: