ACWGC
* ACWGC     * Dpt. of Records       * CSA HQ    * VMI    * Join CSA    
   * Union HQ    * UMA    * Join Union     ACWGC Memorial
CSA Armies:    ANV    AotW
Union Armies:    AotT     AotC      AotP      AotS     Union Army Forums
     Link Express
American Civil War Books, Magazines and Games for sale (See other items)
Club Forums:     NWC    CCC     Home Pages:     NWC    CCC    ACWGC
It is currently Fri Jan 19, 2018 6:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HPS Gettysburg too fast for me
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 9:05 pm
Posts: 91
Location: USA
Gentlemen,

Recently, I have noticed that the results in my HPS Gettysburg game come flashing on the screen at an incredible, and more importantly, unreadable speed. Is there away I can change the speed of the results display so I can tell how many of my boys have fallen to the rebel onslaught?



Col. Randy Hartwig
1/IX/AoO, USA


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 9:52 am
Posts: 959
Location:
Hi,

What you can do is go to settings on the toolbar and deselect "on map results" (I think that is the one). It will then display results the old way, so you can examine the combats one at a time.

MG Mike Mihalik
1/III/AoMiss/CSA


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 9:05 pm
Posts: 91
Location: USA
Thank you Gen. Mihalik. I just ran a quick simulation at the Devil' Den against the AI. This still seems to be less efficient than tne Corinth display. Does it matter if you are using phase or turn play I wonder?

Col. Randy Hartwig
1/IX/AoO, USA


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 23, 2001 4:59 pm
Posts: 133
Location: USA
I think that when you are playing a person, in order to see the results displayed like you want in the replay, your opponent has to have his setting at "on map results".

Gen. Doug Burke


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 22, 2001 7:49 pm
Posts: 423
Location: USA
The replay will be displayed using what ever method your opponent is using.

LGen. Hamilton
II Corps
ANV, CSA
Signal Corps - Editor in Chief


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 6:42 am 
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="3" face="book antiqua" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"><i>Originally posted by Rich Hamilton</i>
<br />The replay will be displayed using what ever method your opponent is using.

LGen. Hamilton
II Corps
ANV, CSA
Signal Corps - Editor in Chief
<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">

Randy,
If this is indeed the case, let me know where you want my settings and I'll put them there. It dosent matter to me which way they are displayed, so whatever works for you is fine with me.

Dan

Colonel D.H. Smith
3rd Cavalry Divison,III Corps,AoA
Image
http://users.adelphia.net/~sapper99/index.htm


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 9:52 am
Posts: 959
Location:
Hi, Colonel,

What I have found is that if the on-map results are on, you can change the method in mid-replay, but you will probably miss a few combats in the beginning. I don't know how it works in turn as I mostly play phase now, with ADF. I haven't played Corinth in awhile so I'm not sure what is different, but Rich Hamilton, who commented in this thread, is an expert in HPS games and has helped me out several times. He could probably work that out for you through emails.



MG Mike Mihalik
1/III/AoMiss/CSA


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 9:05 pm
Posts: 91
Location: USA
Hi Dan,

Let's try changing them. We Yankees have to be careful in monitoring those casualties lest our boys decide to advance in unanticipated directions.

Col. Randy Hartwig
1/IX/AoO, USA


Top
 Profile Send private message E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:58 pm 
I also find the rapid movement from one result to the next quite annoying in the replays. Why can't there be a couple of second delay before the game moves on to the next result? Especially if you are watching the replay in a view that results in many map movements. By the time you get any idea where you are on the map and what units are involved, the fire result is gone and you are left wondering if it is even worth the hassle of watching a replay to begin with... The only way to slow it down is to watch the replay with sound effects ON and in 3D view so that the replay has to show the animations for shooting and being shot and play the sound files. If you play in 2D zoom out and no sound effects if bounces from result to result in less than a second. It should at least give you time to read the result before moving to the next one. I only ask for a few seconds... is that too much? [B)]

Regards,

Col. Alan Lynn
2nd Div, II Corps, AoA

Signal Corps, Assistant Editor

"The only accurate news is well researched history."

God Bless <><


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: