<
             Napoleonic Wargame Club (NWC) Forums
*    NWC     NWC Staff     NWC Rules     NWC (DoR) Records    About Us     Send Email Inquiry to NWC
*   La Grande Armée Quartier Général        La Grande Armée Officer Records       Join La Grande Armée
*   Allied Coalition    Allied Officers     Join Coalition
*   Coalition Armies:   Austro-Prussian-Swedish Army    Anglo Allied Army (AAA)    Russian Corps
  
                 Military Books, Magazines, Games for sale (see other items)
Forums:    ACWGC    CCC     Home:    ACWGC    CCC
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:41 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: "Embedded melee"?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:23 pm
Posts: 17
Hello,

I keep seeing references to a rule/option called Embedded Melee, but I can't find a definition or explanation. All I can tell is that there is some connection between it and the No Melee Eliminations optional rule.

I'd be grateful if anyone could through some light on this or point me in the right direction.

Paul

_________________
Image
Lieutenant Paul Synnott
La Grande Armée,
I Corps,
1e Division,
1e Brigade,
45e Régiment d'Infanterie de Ligne.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Embedded melee"?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 29, 2001 9:12 am
Posts: 1243
Location: United Kingdom
This is from the MOE Rules page:

All melée combat takes place in an Embedded Melée Phase within the player turn. The player may move and/or fire as many units as he wishes, setting up his melée combats for the turn. He then executes ALL melée combats. He may then move and/or fire any units still eligible to do so, but may not conduct any further melée combat for the remainder of the turn.



M.2 Melée attacks against skirmishers (if numbering less than 100), wagons, and/or leaders may be conducted at any time during the turn. Overruns by charging cavalry can occur BEFORE the embedded melee phase.



M.3 Charging cavalry may still melée multiple hexes in one turn, but the first two of these melées must take place within the embedded Melée Phase. For example, charging cavalry MUST initiate their first melee within the melee phase. It may then attack a second hex BEFORE melees involving other units are initiated. In other words, charging cavalry can conduct two (2) melees BEFORE all other melees are conducted. This allows cavalry an opportunity (though limited) to penetrate and cut off retreat routes. AFTER all other melees are done, then charging cavalry can undertake their third and fourth melees if they desire. After the initial melee, attacking cavalry can move through clear terrain, overrun skirmishers, artillery, and wagons without restriction. These actions do not count as melees. Cavalry intending to conduct such melée attacks must, obviously, charge BEFORE the embedded Melée Phase.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: "Embedded melee"?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 2:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:23 pm
Posts: 17
Andy Moss wrote:
This is from the MOE Rules page:


Perfect, now it makes sense. Thanks Andy.

_________________
Image
Lieutenant Paul Synnott
La Grande Armée,
I Corps,
1e Division,
1e Brigade,
45e Régiment d'Infanterie de Ligne.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Localized by Maël Soucaze © 2010 phpBB.fr